The HDRF Depression Task Force:

In 2010, HDRF launched its Depression Task Force (DTF) – an outstanding collaboration of ten leading scientists, at the frontiers of brain science, from different research institutions across the U.S. and Canada.

These scientists have developed an unprecedented research road map that integrates the most advanced knowledge in genetics, epigenetics, molecular biology, electrophysiology, and brain imaging.

Each is executing a piece of the research plan in their own lab. To accelerate breakthrough research, they share ongoing results, in real time, at a centralized data bank, the HDRF Data Center.


  • Huda Akil

    Huda Akil, Ph.D.

    University of Michigan, DTF Chair

    read more

  • Elistabeth Binder

    Elisabeth Binder, M.D., Ph.D.

    Institute of Psychiatry, Munich, Germany

    read more

  • Kafui Dzirasa

    Kafui Dzirasa, Ph.D.

    Duke University

    read more

  • Hen

    René Hen, Ph.D.

    Columbia University

    read more

  • Javitch

    Jonathan Javitch, M.D, Ph.D.

    Columbia University

    read more

  • Conor Liston

    Conor Liston, M.D, Ph.D.

    Feil Family Brain and Mind Research Institute

    read more

  • Helen Mayberg

    Helen S. Mayberg, M.D.

    Emory University

    read more

  • McEwen

    Bruce McEwen, Ph.D.

    Rockefeller University

    read more

  • Meaney

    Michael Meaney, Ph.D

    Douglas Institute & McGill University

    read more

  • Eric Nestler

    Eric Nestler, M.D., Ph.D.

    Mount Sinai School of Medicine

    read more